780 AM | 96.1 FM | “Yours for Western Alaska”

Iron Dog 2020

New Route, Layovers, and Racers Set Stage for 2020 Iron Dog

Iron Dog victors Eric Quam and Scott Faeo leave the Nome halfway point amid blowing snow days before winning the 2015 race in Fairbanks. Photo: Jenn Ruckel, Francesca Fenzi, KNOM.

29 pro-class teams are set to journey across almost 2,400 miles, in an updated version of the Iron Dog snowmachine race. That field includes several race champions like last year’s winners Mike Morgan and Chris Olds, or four-time champ Todd Palin, as well as some new faces like Daniel Stang of Nome. “I think that…

Read More