780 AM | 96.1 FM | “Yours for Western Alaska”

Posts Tagged ‘champion’

Mitch Seavey: 2013 Iditarod Champion

Just moments ago, Mitch Seavey pulled under the Burled Arch in Nome to win his second Iditarod championship. Congratulations to Mitch Seavey: the first-place finisher of Iditarod 2013! Lots more to come – many more mushers are on their way from White Mountain and Safety. Stay tuned.

Read More

Bustle under the arch tonight!

Excitement is palpable on Nome’s Front Street as we await the arrival of the 2013 Iditarod Champion. Race leader Mitch Seavey checked out of the final Safety checkpoint at 7:37pm, closely f0llowed by Aliy Zirkle at 8:02pm. An average run time from Safety to the finish in Nome can be between 2.5 and 3+ hours.…

Read More

Extended Interview: Sebastian Schnuelle Talks Iditarod 2012

Sebastian Schnuelle is a musher who’s raced the Iditarod and the Yukon Quest. But he wasn’t mushing in Iditarod this year: instead, he followed the mushers along the trail on a snowmachine, sharing his experiences through blogs, Facebook posts, and photographs. Now retired from competitive mushing, he has unique insight into how mushers approach the…

Read More

Live Iditarod Finishes: Seavey, Zirkle, Smyth

It was an exciting Tuesday night in Nome, as the first three finishers in the 2012 Iditarod – Dallas Seavey, Aliy Zirkle, and Ramey Smyth – pulled under the Burled Arch. Hear our live, finish-line coverage of all three finishes. There’s lots more to come – including photos. Dallas Seavey of Willow, Alaska – 2012…

Read More

Rohn Buser is the 2012 K300 Champion

Crossing the finish line in Bethel at 11:42 this morning, 22-year old Rohn Buser is the 2012 Kuskokwim 300 champion. Rohn Buser, son of Iditarod legend Martin Buser, won the race with a team of 10 dogs. Marking his third attempt at the K300, the young Buser said he knew he had control of the…

Read More