780 AM | 96.1 FM | “Yours for Western Alaska”

Mitch Seavey Wins Iditarod 2017

Mitch Seavey begins Iditarod 2017 in Fairbanks

Mitch Seavey has just arrived at the Burled Arch in Nome, claiming his third Iditarod victory.

The elder Seavey and his team ran the final stretches of Iditarod 2017 in impressive speed. He ran from White Mountain to Safety in only 5 hours 33 minutes, an average rate of 9.91 miles per hour.

His championship win this afternoon has also broken two Iditarod records: the speed record set by his son, Dallas, in 2016, as well as Mitch Seavey’s own record for the oldest Iditarod champion, set in 2013.

Mitch Seavey’s victory today is also a half-day faster than Dallas’ victory in 2015, the last time the Iditarod was routed over the alternate trail from Fairbanks (rather than from Anchorage).

1 Comment

  1. kimberly shalaby on March 14, 2017 at 5:16 pm

    Congratulations Mitch Seavey!