780 AM | 96.1 FM | “Yours for Western Alaska”

Who’s on the Ballot? An Overview of Alaska’s District 39 Candidates in Election 2016

November 8th is election day for voters all across the Seward Peninsula, the state, and the country. The Seward Peninsula, in district 39-T, will be voting on five different races.

At the state level, voters will choose candidates in the senate and house of representatives. In Nome, and much of the Seward Peninsula, Democrat Donny Olson is running for senate and Democrat Neal Foster is running for state representative.

On the federal level, Alaskans will vote for a senator and house of representatives candidate. Running for US senate are: Democrat Ray Metcalfe, Libertarian Joe Miller, Republican incumbent Lisa Murkowski, and unaffiliated candidates Margret Stock, Breck Craig, and Ted Gianoutsos.

Candidates running for the house of representatives include: Republican Don Young, Democrat Steve Lindbeck, Libertarian Jim McDermott, and independent Bernie Souphanavong.

Running for president are Republican Donald Trump, Democrat Hillary Clinton, Green Party candidate Jill Stein, Libertarian Gary Johnson, Alaska Constitution Party member Darrell Castle, and unaffiliated candidate Roque de la Fuente.

Early voting has begun at the Elections office on Front Street. On Tuesday, voters can cast their ballots at Old St. Joe’s or at the Elections office; hours are 7 am to 8 pm.

An earlier version of this story incorrectly reported the poll opening time at Old St. Joe’s. The hours have been corrected.