780 AM | 96.1 FM | “Yours for Western Alaska”

In Thursday’s News: Alaska’s House District 39

Alaska's new House District 39

House District 39 is just one of several newly redrawn districts under Alaska’s new redistricting plan.

Alaska’s redistricting process has greatly expanded House District 39. Formerly a coastal district confined to western Alaska, it now stretches from across the state, from Canada to the Bering Sea. The new district 39 includes southeast communities near the Canadian border (such as Tok and Eagle), crosses the interior to collect Fort Yukon, and follows the Yukon River west, adding Tanana, Galena, Nulato, and Kaltag. Stopping short of the lower Yukon, the district then cuts west to the Bering Sea, to include communities on the Norton Sound coast, from Unalakleet to Nome, continuing west to Wales, Diomede, and St. Lawrence Island.

Download a PDF of the new districts by clicking here. (Map courtesy of the Alaska Redistricting Board.)